• 1 week ago
  • 29 Views

The very simple Gmail trick that every Google email user needs to know about
GMAIL users might want to take note of this very useful tip that will instantly reveal who has been sharing their personal data with others.
By David Snelling
PUBLISHED: 07:26, Tue, Apr 6, 2021 | UPDATED: 07:26, Tue, Apr 6, 2021
Comment section
Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Share on LinkedIn
Share on Pinterest
Copy link

Gmail tips tricks
Gmail tip will reveal if your details have been shared (Image: GETTY)
Sign up for FREE for the biggest new releases, reviews and tech hacks

When you subscribe we will use the information you provide to send you these newsletters. Sometimes they’ll include recommendations for other related newsletters or services we offer. Our Privacy Notice explains more about how we use your data, and your rights. You can unsubscribe at any time.

If you’re fed up with your Gmail inbox being swamped by a daily barrage of spam emails from companies you have never heard of, there’s a very simple way of finding out how these firms may have targeted your account. A simple trick has been posted online, via the team at Gadget Hacks, which allows Gmail users to find out exactly who has been sharing their address with others.
Related articles

Sky finally fixes one of the biggest problems with your Sky Q box
Millions of WhatsApp fans face blocks from sending messages NEXT MONTH

Next time you head online to buy something or sign up for a service and are forced to enter your email address there’s a neat little way of seeing what then happens to your personal data.

All you need to do is type the first part of your Gmail address into the email field but then add a + sign and give it a unique name. Once you’ve done that you should finish things with the usual @gmail****.

For example, if you are signing up to a Facebook account you would give the social network the address [email protected]****.

It might sound like an odd idea but the reason this works is that Gmail ignores all letters that fall between the + and @ sign meaning you can add any extra details between these characters.

READ MORE: Google offers Gmail users a huge boost that Zoom simply can’t match
Meghan and Harry ‘have to decide’ what they want says expert
READ MORE

Alexa tricks to try this Easter: everything you need to ask your Echo

Should a firm then hand over these details to anyone else you’ll know exactly what has been going on due to that unique identifier you added.

As Gadget Hacks explains, firms can make money by selling email addresses on to marketing companies and because your email address always looks identical you’ll have no idea who has been spilling the beans about your data.

If you are getting unwanted messages you can try and unsubscribe as all marketing messages should offer this option.

If that doesn’t work then the Information Commissioner’s Office (ICO) can sometimes help.
Trending

All-new Amazon Fire TV Stick service promises to be the last app you’ll ever need
All-new Amazon Fire TV Stick service promises to be the last app you’ll ever need
More Samsung TV owners offered a swathe of free content and that’s not all
More Samsung TV owners offered a swathe of free content and that’s not all
Microsoft set to fix everything that’s wrong with your Windows 10 PC
Microsoft set to fix everything that’s wrong with your Windows 10 PC

On its website, the ICO states “If you have received a spam email please report it to us.

“We will use the information you have provided to identify, investigate and take action against organisations that are not following the rules around direct marketing.”

So, next time you are asked to tap in your Gmail address to sign up to a service then give this has a try as it may reveal some interesting insights into what is happening to your data.

News of this hack comes as Google has announced that it is offering Gmail users a very nice boost that couldn’t have come at a better time. The US tech firm has just announced that it’s extending its unlimited free video calls, via Google Meet, until June 30th. That means all Gmail fans can now carry on chatting online with friends and family without fear of being cut off mid-sentence.
Express UK